Ikaroa-Rāwhiti MP congratulates newly elected Ngati Porou board.

Ikaroa-Rāwhiti MP Meka Whaitiri today congratulated the successful candidates of the Te Runanganui o Ngati Porou 2015 Election of Elected Representatives.

The final results of the election were announced on Tuesday, with fourteen candidates elected from a field of thirty eight to be the board of Te Runanganui o Ngati Porou for the next four years.

“Congratulations to the successful fourteen elected representatives who will now go on to bring their wealth of knowledge and skills in serving their whanau, hapu and iwi on the board of Ngati Porou” says Meka Whaitiri.

“All the candidates who put themselves forward were of a very high calibre, with diverse skills and experience, and this election has left the future of the iwi in good hands” says Meka Whaitiri.

“It is especially encouraging to note that during the voting process 4152 members participated in the election, compared to 2659 in the 2011 election.

“I also recognise Dr Apirana Mahuika, our great rangatira who led the organisation as Chairman until his passing in February this year, and was also the Chairman of the organisation’s predecessor, Te Runanga o Ngati Porou, for almost thirty years. Dr Mahuika was unequivocally passionate about the advancement of Ngati Porou people, and the success of this election is a fitting tribute to his many years of leadership.

“I look forward to congratulating the new board members in person and assisting in any way possible with implementing their vision on behalf of all Ngati Porou” says Meka Whaitiri.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *